Sewing snakes again and a little embroidery…

I have been making a bean bag today. Designed as a form of light pressure on the knee. Hopefully, to help somebody sit still enough to write things down.

Little man wasn’t really interested in those to be honest. He was interested in the leftovers though!
His comments were “Oooooh what’s this bit going to be? I could make something with that bit too” and “Muuuuum can I make a snake…..pleeeeeze?”

Little man does play with these snakes that we make, a LOT to be fair. He has one of those springy up type of baskets in his room. The kind you are supposed to put your dirty clothes into. You guessed, it’s full to the brim of snakes of all sizes. Each time I sew I am talked into helping make one of these snakes. Today I am letting Little hands do the work, while I get onto cutting out these bean bags. Does he remember how to make a snake? Of course, we have hundreds of these things!

We shared scissors, pencil, ruler well everything really. I don’t know why because we have more than one of each. Maybe I was lazy and couldn’t be bothered to get more out of the cupboard. It gave us chance to watch what each other was doing and to chat as we went too.

Littleman makes another snake

Little man sat on my knee to guide the fabric as usual. He’s getting quite good at it now!

So some off-cut fabric had life breathed into it in the form of a rattle snake…..bits of rice in a little container sewed into the tail and he cut a LONG strip of felt for a tongue. I added some beads for eyes whilst he jumped around the room in excitement….. then it was done! Welcome to our world little snakey who doesn’t even have a name yet!

I made a boring oversized beanbag with covers but I did have a lot of fun watching my Little man creating 😉

I have been dabbling with hand embroidery after reading the Jan/Dec issue of STITCH. The embroidery I have been stitching quietly each night has been finished. Here it is in all it’s glory (can’t you tell I’m proud;-D).

February2011 019

It’s a little different from the magazine but who says you can’t put your own stamp on something! I should really get into making into a cushion cover. It was originally a pillow case with a hole in it. Rescued from the rag-bag by my cunning hand and a rather bent needle.
Shocking I know but it’s the only one I could find with a sharp enough point and with a big enough eye to take the silks! I usually only use it for tacking purposes on soft furnishing type fabric.I’m going to the market today to buy some zips if memory lets me I will get a pack while I’m there!

Little people are on half term hols this week. By the weather we are getting I should think a great amount of time will be spent splashing in puddles and creating things. It’s all good 😉 Hope you are having fun too.

Leave a Reply

