Homemade yoghurt/cheese but what can you do with the whey?

The cultures from the first batch are still going, also with skimmed milk. How many batches now?…loads! At least seven and so far it still sets pretty solid. I should have bought one of these Easi yo makers years ago! 😉

A couple of people have emailed and asked how I make my yoghurt so here is what I do;

Use 1tbl sp of cultures (yoghurt made from the last batch) and make up to the top of the pot with uht skimmed milk that hasn’t been stored in the fridge so it’s room temperature. Stir well. Put the hot water in the yoghurt maker as per instructions then leave for 6 hours et voila! Shove it in the fridge for later.

After a few hours it will be set, just needing a mix up as there is a bit of whey on the top. Hubby doesn’t like it as is, he says it’s too sour so he adds a bit of sugar and mixes it in. That does make it runnier though. I did try one batch with a tbl sp of sugar mixed in with the cultures at the beginning but it was too sweet for me so at least it is clear that if you all like it sweet you can do it from the beginning. If you mix it up and it’s too runny then you can just strain it. Like for soft cheese but don’t leave it as long.

We have nice thick yoghurt or soft cheese or whatever but what about that green juicy stuff that is left…the whey. What do you do with it? From various books and on the internet here’s what I’ve found….

Whey… what to do with the whey when you have made the soft cheese…don’t throw it away because it so nutritious. You can use it in bread, it tastes a bit like sourdough if you use a lot. I know as I made some today. I used about half the water content of my bread recipe, replacing the other half with the whey. You could use as little or as much as you want I would think.

In cakes and biscuits to help them rise. I haven’t tried this yet.

As a face cleanser/toner/moisturiser. I didn’t fancy smelling like I fell into a bucket of sour milk so I didn’t try that, you can if you want to-let me know how it goes;-)

You can also make ricotta cheese if you manage to collect enough whey. I read somewhere that whey is freezable until you collect enough, I think it may have been in the comments of how to make ricotta.

It’s nutritious so a shame to waste it but if you must pour it away then share it with the garden, the plants like it too (so long as you didn’t add any salt to it!).

I have only scratched the surface mentioning these uses and each time I look further into it, I find more and more things that people use whey for.

I’m a newbie on this subject so if  I’m wrong please correct me. I haven’t tried out all of the above yet but if you do, let me know how you get on 😉

Leave a Reply

