Gardening and things…

It’s been a busy week, I don’t seem to have time to sew at the moment.

I passed my maths exam on Monday *yay!* and will be starting the next level in September *urghhh*.

Hubby and I have been outside, tidying the garden with a rather runny nose, itchy eyes and sneezing all the time. It is apparent that you are supposed to eat local honey to ease the effects of hayfever. It’s not working, believe me!

We have put up a new fence in our little front garden and planted flowers. It looks very pleasant and it now means that I can open the front door and not hang onto the dog!

our little garden

our little garden

our little garden

our little garden

Our small apple tree gave us two apples last year but I can see about 12 now!

our little garden

A sneaky potato plant that we didn’t put there??

our little garden

Strawberries and raspberries, mmmmmm.

our little garden

our little garden

The Little man brought a sunflower home from school and has planted some dwarf beans, radish, kale and numerous other things.

our little garden

our little garden

our little garden

There’s an old plastic tub that we keep seeds, bits of string and odds and ends for gardening in. It was left unattended for a few minutes. Hmmm, you guessed it – little guy had a rummage when I wasn’t looking and I now have various green sprouts of things popping up here and there where he’s planted the seeds. So far I think I have found nasturtiums, sweet peas and lettuce! I fear weeding in case I pull out the things that I shouldn’t!

our little garden

This is our pepper plant.

our little garden

our little garden

We have been nurturing and checking it (sometimes 5 times a day!) for some time now and to our delight there is a little pepper growing there 😉

Little man had the fun of bashing eggshells again to keep away the slugs and snails. We need more eggshells soon. If I get chance I might just bake a cake later. On a second thought no, scones because I made some really lovely strawberry and apple jam the other night. It deserves to be eaten with a good scone so the cake will have to wait. Talking of jam, I may add the recipe for strawberry and apple jam so that you can make your own very scrummy jam!

2 Responses

  1. Hooray on passing the exam. you’re well brainy now :D,
    and now doing the next level up, wow.

    ‘am very much liking all the green sprouty things and the green fingeredness. little fellas planting too. must be in the blod eh.

  2. Hiya, dunno bout being well brainy. They say we have to do maths without a calculator, thats ok but if I had to do it without pen and paper, well i’d be stuffed!

    The green sprouty things are very funny but I don’t know what to leave in when i’m weeding. I could pull them out ‘coz he can’t remember what or where he’s planted but I haven’t the heart! I have to make sure the trowel is out of sight too ‘coz he digs things up when he’s looking for worms or treasure!

    How did J get on with her show? x

Leave a Reply

