Dragon art is in the bag…

Big Purple Dragon and Blue Dragon unite!

I have been working on a new bag recently. The artwork came from Laura at Blue Dragon’s Happy Place of Fun and Cake.

This is Laura’s elfwood art gallery where her fab work is.  I am very impressed with her dragon pictures. So much so that I asked if I could use one to create a bag for myself. Thanks to Laura for letting me use your “The moon is mine” picture.

SciFi.Fantasy.The_Moon_is_Mine.moonismine.jpg.rZd

 

This is my sewing space. As you can see it’s not a special room where I go to create. Just the dining table because that is all the space we have. I love the way the sun shines in through the window here.

 

I put a zipped pocket on the back and a long patch pocket inside. Also a loop for attaching keys to.

It’s a bigger bag than I am used to but good for those days when you want to take everything (including the kitchen sink(along with you!

I’m really pleased with the way this bag looks. It will be in action later today ;-D

 

Now to introduce you to Bernie, “Bernadette” to be exact. Named by my Little man I will have you know. There is a small story behind my new sewing machine.

Bought in 1977, by a lady who was kind and careful with her machine. All the parts are still with it and still functioning perfectly. I was even given the original guarantee, manuals and sewing books with it. 

I met the lady who gave it to me, purely by chance. Mrs J replied to an email one day and we have been very good friends ever since. If she needs sewing done, all it takes is a call and i’m on the job. I will be eternally grateful that I no longer have to put up with my extremely temperamental Toyota.

This baby sews a dream. Now I can do zig zag and change the stitch length – hooray! Along with all the other stitches and tricks that it pulls! No longer am I afraid of buttonholes either. The Toyota refused to get more than halfway through them and now I can make as many of them as I wish!

Thank you Mrs J. X

8 Responses

  1. It’s really lovely! I’m glad you were able to ge some use out of my old pictures (art recycling, anyone?). 🙂

  2. Thanks. I’m pleased if have done your artwork justice! 😉

  3. OOooo nice bag.
    the machine looks like the one i learned to use in school. they were pretty good machines as i remember.
    am nowexpecting big things 😉

    • Thanks! Yeah we used berninas in school too. It’s fab, not the plastic rubbish that is in the shops today.

      Ok so what big things would you like to see? Answers on a postcard plz, lol!
      I’m in the process of making a kimono, nearly finished that and some halloween trick n treat bags too. I’m tring to get all my sewing in before the operation in December!

  4. That came out really cool! I’m curious, though: How did you get the brown shading on the moon? Is it stitch-painting or paint-painting?

    I’m envious of any sewing machine that will do every stitch it promises without fighting. 😛 Don’t tell my bratty Kenmore, but I’ve been cheating on her with my Grandpa’s ancient upholstery machine…

  5. Hi Navi,
    Thanks!
    My camera skills aren’t that good to be fair. The moon is actually a blue colour that shifts to a red. I don’t know what kind of fabric it is because it was just an off cut found in a pile.
    I could find out if you wanted to know. There was no painting going on, it’s all in the fabric. It’s has a kind of silky feel, very soft and lightweight. Like a two-tone shot organza. The weave is blue one way and red the other. I took a picture of it and put it in to flickr for you. It is listed under sewing or you can go here;

    …Oooh your naughty! No wonder your Kenmore won’t behave! Ha ha!
    I will say that I think the older machines are the best though. I always looked out for a singer but now I have had bernie there is no looking back! ;-D

  6. Hello there, Happy Happy Halowen!!!

Leave a Reply

