Impossible Pie

In the September 09 issue of ASDA Magazine there is a recipe for impossible pie. It was created for a competition and the winner got £250 for it. It must be good, surely?

Apparently impossible pie isn’t a new idea. It was around in the 70’s but still news to me and I quite fancy having a go anyway. I wonder if a savoury version has been inveted, seems like a great throw tea in the oven idea ;-D

Here is the recipe from the magazine. I took a photo but it’s very fuzzy and doesn’t actually show the words very well.

 So copied from the magazine, here it is;

Impossible Pie

4oz “I can’t believe it’s not butter” (I should imagine any other cooking marg or butter would do the same job)

8oz caster sugar

8oz desiccated coconut

4 eggs

4oz plain flour

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence

1/2 pint full fat milk

 

1. Oven on 350F/180C/Gas 4

2. Lightly grease 10″ pie or flan dish.

3. Cream the butter with the sugar. Add coconut and eggs.

4. Sieve flour with nutmeg and add vanilla essence.

5. Fold into coconut mixture.

6. Pour into prepared dish and bake for 1 hour. When cooked, a knife inserted into centre should come out clean.

The mixture will have formed a pasty shell, an egg custard filling and a coconut topping. Serve.

 

It sounds interesting. When it’s made i will add a picture. If you have made it I would be interested to know how yours turned out 😉

4 Responses

  1. Very clever. I think savoury meat dishes were made and the “pastry” dropped to the bottom on cooking. I’ve got no recipes but you could google it. I haven’t made anything like it either.

  2. Hi Mel.
    I did google it as you can see by my last post. I found a few nice ones that I may have a bash at. Maybe you should have a go too. I bet you can make layers, unlike me! lol!

  3. I am just in the process of making the impossible pie. After seeing recipe in Asda magazine, I thought I would give it a go. I went out yesterday and bought all the ingredients – not cheap really. The recipe was easy to follow. The first problem came when I tried to pour the mixture into the flan dish. There was far too much to fit into the flan dish. I had to put the rest into a smaller flan dish. After the pie had been cooking for only 20 minutes it was looking decidely burnt. It has now been cooking for 30 minutes and is looking very burnt. I have done the knife test and it is nowhere near cooked inside. Has any one else had the same problem? Goodness knows what it will be like at the end of the cooking time. I feel like I have wasted my time and hardearned cash!

  4. Oh no, thats awful! I halved the recipe for mine and it fit into an 8inch tin. It did look a bit dark whilst it was cooking so I knocked the oven down a touch. I just thought i’d been heavy handed and put it too high in the first place. I have a fan oven and it always seems hotter than it’s supposed to be.
    I don’t really use ceramic/pot flan dishes to be honest I think tins conduct the heat better. What type did you use?
    Mine was cooked through after 35mins but then it was a bit smaller.
    These so-called impossible pies aren’t quite as easy as I thought! 😦

Leave a Reply

