Seedless Blackberry Jam

I have been making jam again. Seedless blackberry this time. Here is my recipe;

A load of blackberries, washed and drained as much as possible then stewed and mashed with a potato masher.

I don’t weigh my blackberries because I sieve them. I measure the juice and for every pint (ok i’m old fashioned and haven’t moved on yet!) I add one pound of sugar. (So if you have one and a half pints of juice then you need one and a half pounds of sugar).

So with the measured juice and sugar in the pan, heat gently until the sugar has dissolved. Add 2 tablespoons of lemon juice and a knife full of butter (the butter is to prevent the jam foaming too much, you only need a little or you will have a greasy slime on the top of your potted jam).

 (stewing the blackberries)

When dissolved bring it up to boiling. Boil for at least 3 mins then test as usual for setting. Then pot into jars.

In my pan I had;

 2 1/2 pints of juice

2 1/2 pounds of sugar

about 3 tablespoons of lemon juice (hubby started talking and I forgot how many I was up to, to be honest!)

and a blob of butter (I didn’t weigh that but I don’t think it was even 1/2 oz)

I timed it as the jam boiled and it took 7 mins for mine to get from boiling to setting. Your times maybe different depending on how hot you have your hob.

 (after boiling)

The jam has now changed colour and texture and is ready.

Pour it into clean, preheated jars as you normally would. Put on the lids and leave to cool.

Ta da! 9 jars of jam to be given as gifts, shared with friends or eaten with toast and butter! Mmmm

Leave a Reply

