Rhubarb and Ginger Jam

Since we like ginger so much, how about I throw it into some rhubarb jam!

2 1/4 lb/1kilo Rhubarb, trimmed

2 1/4 lb/1kilo Sugar

1 oz/25g bruised root ginger

100g/4 oz candied ginger

Wash the rhubarb. Chop it into small pieces. Put it into a bowl with the sugar, give it a good mix, cover and leave overnight.

The following day put the rhubarb and sugar into your jam pan (I used my pressure cooker without the lid) with the bruised root ginger (tied in muslin or cotton). Boil hard for 15 mins. Remove the muslin bag and add the candied ginger, cut into small pieces then reboil for 5 mins or until rhubarb is clear. Test for setting then pot into clean, sterilised, warmed jars.

 

Well I made the jam on Tuesday it is nice but I added a couple of table spoons of lemon juice for a bit more zing! I also decided that next time I make it I will not be leaving the rhubarb and sugar overnight since it seems to make it tough. I am going just lightly stew it then add the sugar and dissolve it as you would normally. The ginger seems to go tough too, maybe it’s me and I just boiled it too hard or for too long? Who knows? Well it’s set ok and the little man asked for it to be sandwiched between two ginger biscuits earlier, said it was yummy and asked for more! It must be ok ;-D

Leave a Reply

