Candied Ginger

Candied Ginger is a favourite nibble of mine. It’s something to keep in the store cupboard.

Yesterday I decided that I would make a batch up. This is an old recipe that I have come by and it is really yummy.

I’m sorry to all the modern people out there who work in grams. I don’t, therefore you may need to use an on-line converter like this or this one.

9 oz fresh root ginger

6 oz granulated sugar

3 fl oz water

caster sugar for coating

Put the ginger in a pan, cover with water. Boil gently until tender, about 15 mins. Drain and peel when cool.  (If you peel while the skin is still soft it is much easier) Chop it into 1/4 inch slices or chunks, whatever your preference.

Use a pan large enough to take the amount of ginger and lots of space for volume (remember we are working with sugar and it can froth like mad if it gets too hot, cleaning burnt sugar from your hob is not fun). Put the sugar and the water into the pan, dissolve the sugar then cook over a low heat until a syrup has formed. This usually takes about 15 mins.

Add the chopped ginger and continue to cook over a low heat. You may shake the pan to prevent the ginger sticking but you don’t need to stir it.

When the ginger has absorbed all the syrup, place it onto a wire rack or a non-stick sheet (I use a re-usable cake tin liner). Leave it to cool and when it’s cool enough to handle you may coat it with sugar. Spread it out on some greaseproof paper for a couple of days until the sugar has crystallized. I just put it in the oven as it is cooling down after I cooked dinner, leaving the door open for any steam to escape. Don’t touch until the following day, keep your hands in your pockets as you pass by.  Store in an airtight glass jar.

I like the stuff and can think of many uses as well as me nibbling on it. Next time I make it I will double the quantities. Depending on how much you like it obviously is up to you how much you make. It keeps for a long time in a glass jar, unless like me you eat it!

Leave a Reply

