From scarf to summery beach top!

After the spring top I made, I decided to make one for the summer.

I didn’t really have any fabric that I fancied using for this. My Mum had donated this very large scarf a while ago and it was sitting in my stash pile of nice fabric. I pulled it out and looked at it-perfect!

A quick chop and a bit of sewing, ta da! A new summer top for holidays. Now all we need is a bit of sun!

I call this “fake smocking”  because it is not done in the traditional way but on the sewing machine with shearing elastic. The elastic is wound by hand onto the bobbin underneath and ordinary cotton thread is used for top thread. It is sewn with a really long stitch. It may sound complicated but it is really easy. You will find a very good tutorial for it here on House on Hill Road. I love this blog and you will find it in my side bar.

Here is my finished top but I don’t think I will be wearing it with those trousers though!

Leave a Reply

