School cheese pie

When we were younger, at our school there was a pie on the menu. Cheese and onion pie. More like a flan really, it didn’t have a pastry top. At the time I wasn’t fussed over it, then again I didn’t like school dinners at all. Sloppy cabbage and lumpy custard just didn’t do it for me if you know what I mean. I usually ended up with a soggy cheese and sweaty onion sandwich wrapped clingfilm and the whole thing tasted of plastic. Oh yeah school dinners…mmmm! Saying that, they are much nicer nowadays. Little man has a flavour station with salad and wraps on the menu!

Ok ok, back to the cheese pie…My hubby remembers a cheese pie at school. It didn’t have onions in. I have searched high and low for a recipe for a pie that matches the description. A few have come close but none really hit the nail on the head.

At first I thought cheese, onion and potato, like mashed or something but no that wasn’t it…..just cheese? I decided that the pie was rather, quiche like, but without anything else in. I remebered onion in it but hubby said not in his school, so just cheese it was.

We could give that a go…..

……Oh yeah that’s it, believe me that’s it! Wahoo! After all the head scratching and trips down memory lane flippin’ eck’ we’ve got it! *bashing hand on the dinner table with joy!”

 I’m sharing our version here in case there are other people wondering how to make school cheese pie. If you try it please leave a comment. I’d love to hear how you got on and if it matches your description of school cheese pie too.

It’s a favourite in our house now by the way. We have it once every week or two. I remember it with onion but we think it’s much nicer without ;-)

First off, this is my best pastry recipe. Not hard or rocket science and a nice light crumbly texture. Throw it together in a few mins and leave it in the fridge to rest, hey you don’t even have to walk to the shop to buy it. All the ingredients will probably be in the cupboard or fridge. EASY!

It’s just the average 1/2 fat to flour with an egg yolk and a bit of water…

Short Pastry

10 oz plain flour

2 1/2 oz butter, cold, cubed

2 1/2 oz trex/lard

1 egg yolk, beaten (you can keep the white to add to the filling)

2-3 tbl sp cold water

pinch salt

Sieve the flour and salt, chop the fats into the flour with a knife or whizz in a processor until you have fine breadcrumbs. Add the egg yolk and 2 tbl sp cold water and another if needed to bring together into a ball. Handle as little as possible, wrap in cling film and place in the fridge for at least 30 mins (If you are like me you might make the pastry in the morning ready to throw the whole pie together later on. If you did your pastry will be pretty solid. That’s ok just leave it on the work top for a little while to soften up a bit.)

Roll out the pastry to fit 2x 7 inch flan tins or 1 larger (I usually put one in the freezer for later). Whatever you have in the cupboard that will safely go into the oven really. I try to use metal since the heat is conducted better(no soggy base!).

I don’t bother to bake blind but you can if you want to. Same temperature as below for about 20-30mins with greaseproof and baking beans in.

Cheese pie filling (to fill one of the cases)

A pack of medium cheddar cheese

2 eggs and the white from earlier

milk to make up to 1/2 pint

salt and pepper

Put the oven onto 180 degrees C. If yours isn’t a fan oven you need it to be 200 degrees C/gas 6. Grate the cheese and fill the flan case with it. Yes I mean fill it, impossible to say how much as it depends on the size of your flan case. Let’s say to the top, level, loosely without packing it in. Grate as you fill I find the easiest way.

Beat the 2 eggs with the extra white from earlier and make up to 1/2 pint (again difficult to say how much as I don’t know how much your dish will hold. In general I use one egg made up to 1/4 pint times by however many times to fill the space in the dish, if that makes sense) add pinch of salt and a shake of pepper. Pour over the cheese. (If you find you are short of egg mixture at this point you could mix up another egg to make 1/4 pint and add to the flan. Just pour it on the top of the rest.)

cheese flan
Yes that’s it. Nothing fancy. Bake for about 40 mins until golden brown and risen up. It will fall flat when it cools. When you shake it gently, it shouldn’t wobble about in the middle. If it does, leave it in for another 5 mins or so.

Allow to settle for a few mins before slicing and serving with salad or jacket potato and open your mind to memories of school dinners if you so wish!

Enjoy ;-)

Please leave a comment. I’d be interested to hear how you got on.

4 Responses

  1. Not sure if this is the same one we used to have. may need to do a taste test :D
    I also wondered how they made this. I thought there was potato in it..

  2. Yes, give it a go plz, let me know how you get on. I made it with potato and it didn’t seem quite right to me.
    We have had ours cold as well, it’s nice but you can’t beat it fresh from the oven.
    Did I miss anything out of the recipie, was late last night when I typed it!

  3. We all tasted yours (cut into 4) It was really good but unfortunately, not the one.
    We made one the day after from the recipe I told you about
    50lb cheese, 8 lb onions (fried), 20 eggs, 6 pints milk, small bucket of potatoes,
    20 lb ‘single’ pastry.
    Think I’m gonna need a bigger tin lol.
    I pared it down to 12 lb cheese. ½ onion finely chopped, 1 egg, 1 ½ oz milk. 1 large potato. Tasted really good but, still not the one. Would have saved you some but erm we ate it all, yum.
    How many potatoes in a bucket? Maybe tweak it a bit and have another go next week.

  4. Wow you managed to cut it into 4? You couldn’t have had much each! It’s much nicer straight from the oven, never the same when it’s heated up again. It tastes more like quiche when you do.

    Phew that’s a lot of ingredients, you might need a few tins and ovens to put them all in! :-D So you pared it down, nice 1. How much cheese?? Did you cook and mash the potato or grate it raw?

    Let me know how the next test goes ;-)

    I spoke to one of the dinner ladies at school and she said there wasn’t any potato, it was rice in theirs. All the schools must have had different recipes I think!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

